Congratualtions to Dr. Mozhgan Savabieasfahani !

I just wanted to share to readers of my blog the good news (for a change) that Dr. Mozhgan Savabieasfahani was awarded the prestigious  2015 Rachel Carson Prize. The prize is given out every two years to a woman who has made significant contributions to the environment.

Dr. Savabieasfahani, an environmental toxicologist based in Ann Arbor, Michigan, won this year’s award for her research linking the increase in congenital birth defects in Iraq over the last two decades to the use of U.S. and coalitions force weapons there.

You can read more about the award, as well as an interview with Dr. Savabieasfahani, here.

I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Savabieasfahani last October, when she was in town to speak at “The People’s Hearing on the Lasting Impact of the Iraq War”, an event that I documented in this prior post.

I really hope that this award brings some much needed attention to the issue of the increase of birth defects and cancers in Iraq. Most importantly, I hope that it brings her some much needed funding so that she can continue to carry out this important and necessary research.

Dr. Savabieasfahani, you are one of my heros. My heartfelt congratulations  for this deserved recognition.

One thought on “Congratualtions to Dr. Mozhgan Savabieasfahani !

  1. Thank you so much, I just saw this. I appreciate your kind words. I think you are also doing very important work and I too am proud of you and your work. In Solidarity, Mozhgan

Leave a Reply

